Summer Speech/Language Homework

During my 6 years as an SLP in the public schools, I’ve served various populations.

  • Early Childhood (3-5 years old)
  • Elementary School (grades K-5)
  • Junior High School (grades 6-8)
  • Resource Students
  • Educational Life Skills Students
  • Special schooling for students with severe impairments, etc.

Usually, I am able to find cute homework calendars to send home with students to keep up their communication skills over the summer.  However, when I began to look for things that would be age appropriate for my older resource students, there were slim pickings (and when I say “slim pickings” I mean materials that claimed to be for older kids but actually were quite babyish in appearance or activity suggestions;  I knew these wouldn’t fly with my students).

Seeing no other serious options, I decided to make my own!

I began by putting together some articulation activities for the most common sounds still in error with older kids – /s/, /z/, and /r/.
Then I added the *ever-elusive* language activities appropriate for older students to work on at home that they might actually be motivated to do!

…and here it is folks, my first summer activity packet for Junior High and High School Students:
http://bit.ly/SLPsummer1

After having this packet available online for a year, I decided to beef it up with some articulation worksheets,suggestions for pragmatic activities, fluency reminders, along with a sign-off sheet to add more accountability for practicing each skill.  This packet includes some of the best products available in my TeachersPayTeachers store bundled into one convenient packet that could actually be used for summer homework or for therapy during the regular school year.

Grab your Deluxe Summer Homework Packet for Older Speech/Language Students here:
http://bit.ly/SLPsummer2

If you’re looking for great calendars for younger students or other populations, check out some of the wonderful resources listed in this SLP Summer Homework Linky Party hosted by Bright Ideas SLP!

http://brightideasslp.blogspot.com/2014/05/summer-homework-linky-party.html

SLP Summer Homework Linky PartySLP Summer Homework Linky Party

Leave a Reply

